Final Assignment — Concrete Shell Cast

My initial idea is to try to use concrete to copy this paper folding structure showing above. As a result I may get a shell-like concrete structure which is generated from the shape of the paper.

I choose the fabric form work to achieve this.

Using the sticks and strings to imitate the folding edges of the paper, and then cover it with the fabric to get the mold.

The recipe of the concrete is 1 cement, 0.5 water and 0.5 sand. The mixture is almost liquid like, which makes it easier to pour it evenly onto the fabric.

Due to the weight of the concrete, the wooden sticks bent to a curve.

At first I used 1kg of the mixture. But then I doubled it to make the structure bend over even more, As a result I got an approximately semi circle, which is a more reasonable shape for a shell structure.

Made a mistake when I went to check it about 24 hours later. I somehow moved it and the wooden sticks suddenly rebounded and teared my cast apart. But I managed to glue them together.

This is the final view of the cast. As the cast is the opposite to the mold. It is actually not a very strong structure. The position that is supposed to be beams are actually weak while the position of ceilings are too heavy. I think if I use the concrete as the mold and cast again then I can get a reasonable structure.

